Goals

This blog is hopefully going to be a place for my husband and I to be more accountable. A place to build relationships with people who will keep us accountable. Here are some goals we have set ourself for the rest of 2011.

 1. Replenish our $1,000 emergency fund.
We decided that it was in our best interest to have a 1,000 emergency fund on hand. Read any financial blog and they will tell you it is a good idea. That E fund came in handy when we had to put money towards B’s classes. He already has his bachelors degree but he decided to go back to school. He goes to community college so his bill for the semester is around 2,000. We took money out of our E fund to put towards his school so it is down to 500 bucks. Within the next month I would like to build that back up so we have a nice little cushion.

2. Save up 2300 by the end of 2011 to pay for B’s classes in January.
B’s decision to go back to school happened very quickly. Not giving us a lot of time to save up for his classes. This time we are going to save around 2,300 dollars for his classes and books when he starts his next semester in January.

3. Find a job that I am happy at and pays well.
I hate my job. I have been here for about a year and a half and I hate it. The hard part is I have no idea what I want to do with my life. It is a big stress for me and very hard to find a job that I love and can make good money at. It’s not all about the money for me but with B in school I must have a good paying job.

4. Move out of the in-laws.
This is a big one for me. I love my in-laws and my family. But I want to feel like a wife. I want to be able to take care of our household and my husband and not have my mother in law cook me dinner every night. We moved in with them in February to save some money. We had a little credit card debt and we wanted to pay it off while living there. We have some things going on the next few months so we are trying very hard to save money so we can move out and get our own place.

5. Buy a camera.
I want a nice camera. I’m not sure what kind yet but I really want to do a better job of documenting our lives. I’m asking for money for christmas so I am going to see what kind I can get with the money I have.

Long Term Goals

 1. Purchas a house by the end of 2012…or 2013
I would love to be able to buy a home by next year. It doesn’t have to be a nice one. A little foreclosure fixer upper will be perfect for us. We will se if we can do it in the next 2 years.

2. Buy a new computer (mac) & Photoshop/illustrator.
I have a minor in graphic design. I have the skills but no tools! I really want a mac laptop. I used macs all throughout college at the labs at school and really love them. I have a PC that I have had for 6 years and I am very surprised it is still kicking. It has been with me through college and I have put that thing through hell.

3. Go on a trip.
Where? I don’t really care. B and I love to travel. I want to go to so many places around the world it is crazy. I would love to go to Europe for our next trip but we might have to settle for some place in the US.

4. Have a baby.
B and I want at least 4 kids. We are not ready anytime soon but hopefully within the next 2 years we can start trying. I want us to own a house and have a good size savings before we have a child. There is something about bringing OUR baby home to OUR home that I think is very important. It gives me a great sense of security…I will wait a little longer to have that security.

 There you have it! Some short-term and long-term goals. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Goals

  1. omg you and are i so much alike! Let’s be besties! : )

    We are working on many of the same things. Saving really sucks, especially when you think of all the cool things you could be doing with that money, but I hope it will pay off in the end!

    • Hells yeah! New BFF for life! haha.

      And yes saving money does suck. I am a sucker for a good time too. So if someone says “Lets go away for the weekend” or “Lets go out for happy hour.” I completly forget that we are trying to save money and go spend it on a trip or at the bar. Bad girl! Hopefully this blog will help us out!

Leave a Reply

